European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division Hannes Alfvén Prize

The Hannes Alfvén Prize of the European Physical Society for Outstanding Contributions to Plasma Physics, established in 2000, is awarded each year at the EPS Conference on Plasma Physics for pioneering work in experimental or theoretical plasma physics, which has shaped the field or is expected to do so in future.

We congratulate the 2020 prize winner Dr. Annick Pouquet (Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics, University of Colorado and National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado, USA). See announcement here.

2020 Alfvén Prize Lecture:

Annick Pouquet

I1.001 Some recent developments in our basic understanding of turbulent systems, and does it matter for plasmas ?

Monday 22nd

PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD Poster Prizes

The international journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF), the European Physical Society (EPS) and the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics are proud to jointly sponsor the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD Poster Prize at the EPS Plasma Physics conference. Up to four prizes will be awarded to the best posters. To be considered for this prize, you must be a PhD student presenting a poster at the EPS conference in Sitges, Spain

To enter your poster in the running for the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD poster prize, simply send an e-mail to by Monday 15 June 2020 with "PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD Poster Prize" in the subject line. Please include your name, your poster number, and the day and time you are presenting your poster.

More information here.

Itoh Project Prize

During the conference, Professor Akihide Fujisawa is co-ordinating the judging for the Kyushu University Itoh Project Prize to a young researcher presenting a poster. This annual prize was initially established in 2005 by the late Professor Sanae Itoh, who sadly passed away in 2019.

The prize is sponsored by Kyushu University, and co-organized by the publishers of Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion, Institute of Physics Publishing (IOPP). It aims at recognizing doctoral students who have performed excellent research on plasma turbulence, transport, confinement, or any related topic.

Winners are invited to Kyushu University, where an opportunity is provided to give lectures and start collaborative research.

to top button