PhD Research Awards

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board grants annually up to four prizes to young scientists from the 38 European countries associated with the EPS in recognition of truly outstanding research achievements associated with their PhD study in the broad field of plasma physics.

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board has the pleasure in announcing the winners of its 2020 and 2021 PhD Research Award.

The 2020 winners are:

Archie Bott
University of Oxford
For his thesis on "Magnetic-field amplification in turbulent laser-plasmas"

Bart Ripperda
KU Leuven University
For his thesis on "On magnetic reconnection and particle acceleration in relativistic plasmas"

Kevin Verhaegh
University of York
For his thesis on "Spectroscopic investigations of detachment on TCV: Investigating the role of atomic physics on the ion current rollover and the dynamics of detachment in TCV"

Rogério Jorge
EPFL and University of Lisbon
For his thesis on "A moment-based model for plasma dynamics of arbitrary collisionality"

The 2021 winners are:

Audrey Chatain
Université Paris-Saclay
For her thesis on “Aerosols-plasma interaction in Titan’s ionosphere”

Alexandra Dudkovskaia
University of York
For her thesis on “Modelling neoclassical tearing modes in tokamak plasmas"

Mario Galletti
University of Lisbon
For his thesis on "High contrast front-end for a petawatt laser system designed for electron acceleration & High intensity laser-matter applications towards advanced compact particle accelerators"

Andrea Pavone
Technical University of Berlin
For his thesis on "Machine learning approximation of bayesian inference in nuclear fusion"

The awardees will give an oral presentation of their works at the conference.

to top button